Posted by: keepfishing | April 19, 2009

Back to the Trenches

The wanderings have ceased, albeit temporarily. I am now back in Edinburgh for a few weeks to re-invent my life. As regular and long-time readers will know, before I became the human Littlest Hobo, I was a marine biologist. Not an employed one, but one racking up qualifications so that I might jump to the top of any job shortlist because of my sweet skills.

Unfortunately, my graduation directly coincided with something people called the Credit Crunch and funding for jobs and PhDs rapidly reduced. No longer was I getting interviews, only rejection letters telling me that I was just one of 60-100 people who’d applied for that job. So, after 6 months of this, with that time productively split between delivering pizzas and studying at L’Abri, I have decided to become an English teacher.

Not a ‘proper’ English teacher, as in one who’s primary job is crowd control at a secondary school, but one who teaches English to those who speak something else as a mother tongue. So tomorrow morning, I begin my TEFL (Teaching English as Ā a Foreign Language) course. What I find astounding is that in a mere 4 weeks (albeit 4 sweaty, intensive weeks), I will have qualified and can inflict my dubious expertise on the world. Four years to become a master of tropical coastal management, four weeks to become an expert in past participles and the passive voice.

So for those of you who asked for an update on my life (there were at least two of you), there it is. The good news is that for some reason, from past experience, the busier I am, the more I write on here. And boy do I have some treats.

Responses

  1. hooray for more postings šŸ™‚

    and just to get you started on proper english grammar, there *were* at least two of us who asked for an update on your life.

  2. Gah. Edited.

  3. Wow, where are you doing this? I looked into becoming a TEFL tutor/teacher and found every job required me to do 6mth/1yr course or a linguistics qualification unless I wanted to do it in a voluntary capacity?

  4. Thanks! More now please!

  5. keepfishing in “Proper Job” shocker! Mebbes i will have to start jetting off to far flung places to redress the balance. John P just finished a tefl course in Newcastle, had a great time doing it apparently, so should be good. Enjoy =]

  6. šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

