Posted by: keepfishing | July 9, 2008

‘All night on the beach till the break of dawn’

Apologies for those who have missed the blog’s blend of gentle wit and controversial opinion. I have been away for the last week or so in Miami and Fort Lauderdale for the purposes of ‘work’, attending the 11th International Coral Reef Symposium (ICRS). So far, several things which are blog-worthy, but unlikely to ever see the light of day, have happened:

 

  • The 4th of July lock-in, where we lost the key for the room we stayed in and spent 5 hours looking for it in the apartment and ended up trapped.
  • Beautiful art deco houses in Miami Beach

 

 

 

  • The slowest drive in the world to reach the southern most point in America in Key West
  • Flesh-eating mosquitoes and a lack of manatees in the Everglades.

  • Scary married women wanting to buy me a drink
  • Almost breaking the car whilst failing to pull off a U-turn.
  • Being homeless and having to sleep on the floor of a posh hotel room with only curtains for warmth.
  • A personal encounter with an alligator.
The conference is still going on, and I’m learning a ton. If I get the chance, I’ll try and relay the important stuff (i.e. coral reefs can still be saved), when I get back.
Responses

  1. art-deco!? i thought that was a rock-climbing wall…

  2. ah yes, i have missed your charming blend blend of gentle wit, controversial opinion and subtle wisdom.

  3. I am glad you are having a good time. You are looking more and more like a beach bum. 🙂 I love it.

    The alligator seriously terrifies me.

    The houses are a bit weird if you ask me.

    Ewww scary married women. Seriously dude. What’s with that?

    Lastly… i think you SERIOUSLY need to work on not procrastinating and finishing your project ten hours early. Thesis done by 3pm on the 27th is totally doable. You have 16 days notice. Plenty of time.

  4. um…the southern most part of America…is that not either Argentina (if you count South America) or Hawaii?

  5. Do we have a pedant in the house??

    I meant the southern most part of the United States of America. And I”m pretty sure Key West is further south then any part of Hawaii

  6. Sorry Al, but I can’t not jump into pendantry when I see it: Hawaii is more southerly than the keys, I just checked it on the google maps…

  7. Learn something new every day. I think the phrase you’re looking for is “continental united states”. Says it right there in your photo, look.

  8. Can’t help it, it’s that little bit of geographer still left in me that didn’t get beaten out by medical stats.

    🙂

    Hawaii is the most southern state of the US. But as Linus says, you can make it right by adding ‘continental’

  9. meh. I’m leaving it as it is. If it’s in the photo, then that’s explanation enough.


Leave a Reply

Categories

