Posted by: keepfishing | October 1, 2007

I hate football

I hate football. Especially supporting Aston Villa. I used to say that I was a Villa fan as penance for my sins, but under Martin O’Neill, the optimism of a naive child had returned to me. That was until this week. Losing 1-0 at home in the cup to Leicester, our fabled bogey team, was bad enough, but tonight, we managed to draw 4-4 with Spurs, despite being 4-1 up with half an hour to go. Those of you who don’t follow football probably can’t empathise and should probably stop reading now, but I’m finding it very hard to express what I feel right now. To see your team, the team you’ve followed faithfully since boyhood, score 4 goals (a rarity in itself for Villa, and admittedly, slightly undeservedly), and then so cheaply surrender what should be a comfortable win, literally gets the heart going. Marlon Harewood deserves to be kneecapped. Not literally, but maybe at least have his dog kicked off a bridge, Anchorman style. I guess this feeling is the flip side of the highs of corporate joy.

Obviously, most of this is just the emotional outpouring of my heart, post-watching-depressing-yet-exciting-football-alone-in-pub. I still have the utmost faith in O’Neill and wouldn’t want anyone else managing our club. On the upside, we didn’t lose the game, and on a bigger upside, I’m not a Spurs fan, who still sit 1 point off the bottom 🙂

Responses

  1. glad you could fine the silver lining in this dark grey cloud.

  2. very unlucky. you’d think at 4 goals the defenders would realise that there’s more pressure on them as the forwards have done their job.


Leave a Reply

Categories

