Posted by: keepfishing | September 1, 2007

The Great Escape

Tomorrow morning, I escape Utila on the 6:20am ferry. It’s not before time, either. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve had a great time here – I’ve learned a ton and seen things I may never see again (see the posts on Killer whales and whale sharks), but I’m glad to be going home. The island has got pretty boring, i,.e there’s absolutely nothing to do if you’re not on the boat or punching data into a computer.

Speaking of data entry, yesterday I spent 13 hours, from 7:30am to 6:30pm measuring the areas of countless juvenile corals and entering them into a spreadsheet. Apparently it’s vitally important and has things to do with urchins, disease and the effect of the urchins eating algae on corals. Email me if you want to be fascinated/bored with a longer explanation.

Today was more interesting, we spent the morning rarely dived sea mounts, which included a couple of turtles, being startled by a 6ft nurse shark popping out a hole (it gave me such a shock I snapped the rock I was holding onto) and some dolphins mucking about on the way home. And dinner was barbecued fillet mignon, which was much better than the recent far, so I’m a happy boy. Now it’s off to finish packing, drinks in Treetanic, the bar in the mango tree and then awaiting the ferry, a 7 hour bus ride, and the ruins of Copan for the weekend. Hooray!

Responses

  1. Totally with you on the steak chap! After 2 weeks of courgette I would have eaten my own toes!

    paul

  2. Even I haven’t been able to face a courgette yet!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

