Posted by: keepfishing | August 28, 2007

Refreshment

There are several things that I have employed to keep me going through 6 weeks on this sparse island (for some, a tropical island may be enough, maybe I get bored a little too easily). Here they are.

1. Firstly, I’ve rediscovered a love and hunger for reading:

  • The Black Book by Ian Rankin. As always, awesome. I’d pretty much finished it by the time I walked off the plane.
  • Dune by Frank Herbert. My copy was bought in 1985 and has been sat on my bookshelf for at least 5 years. For the first time I broke through the 50 page mark and realised that it deserves its classic status.
  • A Million Little Pieces by James Frey. Someone left it hanging around and I picked it up. Amazon had it as their favourite book of 2003. It’s very good, despite the controversy.
  • Relentless by Simon Kernick. Richard and Judy had it on their summer read list, right now it’s at #39 in Amazon’s top selling list. Utter turd. I hope I dont get to finish it.
  • The God Who is There by Francis Shaeffer. It rocks. It’s giving me a whole new perspective on how artists and non-scientists think and see the world. I’m becoming a rounder person. I should eat less.
  • The Pursuit of God by A. W. Tozer. Can’t really comment on it because I’ve been reading it in a bitty fashion. I need a fresh run at it.

2. Blackadder and The Office (British Version)  on the video iPod make the nights much shorter (which is necessary even when you’re going to bed at 10pm every night).

3. Podcasts I downloaded before I came, particularly Ravi Zacharias’s Just Thinking and Rob Bell’s stuff from Mars Hill church have really fed me, when the rest of the stuff here seems to be trying to drain me. I highly recommend them.

4. Playing fantasy football. Live showings of the Premiership are intermittent at best.

5. Treetanic. It’s a bar in a mango tree. It rocks my world.

Responses

  1. The God who is there rocks! The God and the book!
    A must-read text for all!

    Dune – just read this myself for the first time a few weeks ago. A bit of a sci-fi classic but I can’t decide whether to stop with Dune or get sucked in a read the whole series.

  2. The only book I’ve read off that list is Schaeffer’s – and it rocked my understanding of worldviews & interactions with culture too. It was mega-helpful during my 3rd-year crisis.

  3. Check out these lyrics from ‘Weapon of Choice’. The Fatboy video with Christopher Walken. Just noticed the Dune reference a few weeks ago when I heard it again and then watched the video again yesterday and thought of you.

    _________________________

    You can blow with this
    Or you can blow with that
    You can blow with this
    Or you can blow with that
    You can blow with…

    Walk without rhythm, it won’t attract the worm
    Walk without rhythm, and it won’t attract the worm
    Walk without rhythm, and it won’t attract the worm
    if you walk without rhythm (uh), you never learn, yeah

    Don’t be shocked by the tone of my voice
    Check out my new weapon, weapon of choice

    Don’t be shocked by the tone of my voice
    Check out my new weapon, weapon of choice

    (Can’t forget to load it)
    Before they catch ya Chainsmokin’
    (Can’t forget to load it)
    Before they catch ya Chainsmokin’
    (Can’t forget to load it)
    Before they catch ya Chainsmokin’
    (Can’t forget to load it)
    Before they catch ya Chainsmokin’

    You can go with this
    You can go with that
    You can go with this
    Or you can go with that
    Or you can go with this
    Or you can go with that
    Or you can go with us

  4. Sounds like you have been hanging in there.
    I also enjoyed “a million little pieces” despite the controversy. i thought it was really well written. Tozer’s book is amazing! And well I need to give props to the guy, he served in Toronto for a long time. 🙂

    I just finished “In Plain Sight” by Mark Buchanan. It was on the 7 virtues found in 2 Peter. Pretty decent. Some good isights and he is a great writter. Easy to read and helps you grasp the depth of these virtues while remaining true to the text.

    Next on the list??

    When are you back to the Island?

  5. THE GOD WHO IS THERE shaped my time immensely over there in the UK. I still have a poster of schaeffer on my wall from that Agape conference!


Leave a Reply

Categories

