Posted by: keepfishing | August 25, 2007

Anticlimax

So the hurricane missed us by a long way. Pity I can’t say the same for Jamaica and the Yucatan. It rained a lot on Monday, and I mean a lot, but whether that has anything to do with the hurricane or not, I’ve no idea. If anything was going to happen, it would happen around midnight, we were assured, so we sat up and waited. And waited. And went to bed. The next morning, the floods had gone, and we carried on as normal.

And that’s about as exciting as this week got. I’ve been assigned a project where I’m helping a masters student collect data on coral recruitment on Montastrea annularis. Ultimately, the results will tell us how the reefs are changing and what they will look like in 10 years time. The concept is interesting, the reality of data collection less so. Don’t get me wrong, I love diving, and I love diving with a purpose, but hanging upside down for an hour, with your face plastered to a coral colony, trying to wedge plastic squares between bits of rock and then trying to manoeuvre yourself into a position to take a picture of it, all the while having your face scraped with fire coral, is not exactly a barrel of laughs.

But it’s still a lot of fun.

That said, I’m looking forward to heading out of here. When you’re not actually on the boats doing the fun stuff (even if it does involve fire-coral in the face), there’s very little to do. The main island pastimes are drinking and getting laid, and if you’re not so into that, there’s not a lot to be done. I’ve almost got through my 4th book, and I’m running out of options. So me and another volunteer have decided to escape for our final weekend.

We’re going to run away to the ruins at Copan. Apparently it’s the second largest set of mayan ruins in the world or something, although I can’t verify that because I’m too lazy to do research. Actually, there’s nothing better to do right now, so I’ll check out wikipedia…Ok the wiki doesn’t say much about it’s size, but it was a very important kingdom in the Mayan empire. Which makes it worth a visit. Apparently we can even get an air conditioned bus there, which makes it even more worth a visit.

Speaking of which, I went to the local cinema (the back room of someones house with some garden chairs tiered up. to see a film called Sweet Lands. It had won awards at some festivals, so a couple of us thought it worth a look. It was utter balls. Think The Notebook but much worse. However, it was still more than worth the 45 Lemp cost (just over a quid), simply for a couple of hours of air conditioning. Bliss…

Leave a Reply

Categories

