Posted by: keepfishing | July 18, 2007

Kimchi, anyone?

I’ve been back in the UK 10 days. That’s a lot of neglect to my shiny blog and I apologise. To be honest, processing the trip, especially the Korea bit, has been pretty hard, so I’ve been putting off writing about it (but thanks to all of you who wrote and said they missed me!).

For those of you unaware of my movements, after the Russia project finished, we travelled to Busan, on the coast of South Korea for CM2007, a conference for nearly 20,000 staff and students associated with Agape/Campus Crusade for Christ from 129 countries. The idea was to make the conference a call to being a part in completing the Great Commission, and specifically going to the last 6,000 ‘influential’ univerisities in the world where there isn’t a Christian ministry.

Now I knew this before I went of course, but I don’t think anything could have prepared me for how phenomenally mindblowing it was. To meet people from all over the globe, some of whom are from places where there is very real persecution going on, was an incredible priviledge and something that I guess will never be repeated this side of heaven.

God spoke to me a lot, and I think for the first time, my heart really broke for the lost. I cried a lot, had a lot of thoughts about the western church, and fell in love with people from Latin America.

It’s kinda hard to describe if you weren’t there. Meeting and experiencing so many different cultures, and discovering what an awesome group of people Koreans are, was phenomenal. Have you got the impression that I had a good time??There’s a few videos on YouTube that you can check out.

It’s exciting to think that this could be the catalyst to a new wave of world mission – seeing 20,000 people commit to being a part of something is no small thing.

Anyway, that’s some rambling thoughts to get me back on track. I’ll try and fill in a few more gaps over the next few days.

Responses

  1. W’come back!


Leave a Reply

Categories

